[ Fixed ] AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Tell us if the software is behaving badly

Moderator: poiko

Post Reply
blabibo
Silver
Silver
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Belgium

[ Fixed ] AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by blabibo » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:28 pm

EZCD reports 16 bit AC3 files as 32 bit in Audio Converter:

EZCD:
Belinda AC3 EZCD.jpg
Mediainfo
Belinda AC3 EZCD.jpg (443.5 KiB) Viewed 782 times
Mediainfo:
Belinda AC3 Mediainfo.jpg
EZCD
Belinda AC3 Mediainfo.jpg (116.02 KiB) Viewed 782 times

User avatar
poiko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3880
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: https://www.poikosoft.com
Contact:

Re: AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by poiko » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:30 pm

EZ CD Audio Converter converts AC3 to 32-bit float.

blabibo
Silver
Silver
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Belgium

Re: AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by blabibo » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:17 pm

poiko wrote: Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:30 pm EZ CD Audio Converter converts AC3 to 32-bit float.
Ah ok. Any specific reason for that?

User avatar
poiko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3880
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: https://www.poikosoft.com
Contact:

Re: AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by poiko » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:24 pm

It is most accurate output. You can convert it to whatever you want with best possible audio quality.

blabibo
Silver
Silver
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Belgium

Re: AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by blabibo » Wed Sep 26, 2018 7:44 pm

poiko wrote: Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:24 pm It is most accurate output. You can convert it to whatever you want with best possible audio quality.
Is it really necessary? I mean, if the original file is 16 bit, changing it to 24 or 32 bit is just adding zeros (so I've been told), isn't it?

Not that it really matters to me. AC3 is lossy so I don't convert it to anything, I leave it as it is. I actually use EZCD to change the track titles all at once (DVD Audio Extractor writes all the extracted files as TITLE# - CHAPTER#, which is annoying).

User avatar
poiko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3880
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: https://www.poikosoft.com
Contact:

Re: AC3 bit depth incorrectly reported

Post by poiko » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:25 pm

I think you're right.

AC-3 is 16-bit
(E-AC-3 is up to 24-bit)

AC3 encoder/decoder operates in 32-bit floating point format.

You can set the output to 16-bits if you convert to a lossless format. If you convert to MP3, AAC, Opus, etc formats, EZ CD Audio Converter transfers samples in 32-bit floating point format from AC-3 decoder to encoder to preserve best possible audio quality.

I have updated the file info reader so that it's finds out the correct bit depth for AC-3, E-AC-3, TrueHD, and Atmos.

Post Reply